Oscars 2022: Coda and Dune Win Big While Will Smith and Ariana DeBose Make Headlines - Arts & Culture

And the Oscar goes to…

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has revealed its winning picks.

READ ALSO: 2021 Recap: All The Award-Winning Or Critically-Acclaimed Films And Stars Of The Past Year

The 94th Academy Awards were held at the Dolby Theatre at the Hollywood & Highland Center today.

Coda emerged Best Picture on top of its Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Supporting Actor achievements, while The Power of the Dog got the Best Director trophy for Jane Campion.

Dune won the majority or six of its 10 nominations and the most awards of the night. These include off-camera accolades controversially excluded from the broadcast.

Namely, Dune collected Best Cinematography, Best Film Editing, Best Original Score, Best Production Design, Best Sound, and Best Visual Effects.

It was Will Smith, however, who made a scene. Aside from collecting his first Academy Award for Best Actor for King Richard, he hit comedian Chris Rock over a joke about his wife, Jada Pinkett Smith. 

Meanwhile, West Side Story‘s Ariana DeBose made history as she claimed the Best Supporting Actress title. The actress is both the first Afro Latina and the first openly queer woman of color to win an Oscar.

Here is the full list of winners in the Oscars 2022.

Actor In A Leading Role

Will Smith—King Richard

Actor In A Supporting Role

Troy Kotsur—Coda

Actress In A Leading Role

Jessica Chastain—The Eyes Of Tammy Faye

Actress In A Supporting Role

Ariana Debose—West Side Story

Animated Feature Film



Dune—Greig Fraser

Costume Design

Cruella—Jenny Beavan


The Power Of The Dog—Jane Campion

Documentary (Feature)

Summer Of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)

Documentary (Short Subject)

The Queen of Basketball

Film Editing

Dune—Joe Walker

International Feature Film

Drive My Car—Japan

Makeup And Hairstyling

The Eyes Of Tammy Faye—Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, and Justin Raleigh

Music (Original Score)

Dune—Hans Zimmer

Music (Original Song)

No Time To Die from No Time To Die; Music and Lyric by Billie Eilish and Finneas O’connell 

Best Picture 


Production Design

Dune—Production Design: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Zsuzsanna Sipos

Short Film (Animated)

The Windshield Wiper

Short Film (Live Action)

The Long Goodbye


Dune—Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill, and Ron Bartlett

Visual Effects

Dune—Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor, and Gerd Nefzer

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

Coda—Screenplay by Siân Heder

Writing (Original Screenplay)

Belfast—Written by Kenneth Branagh

Banner Photo via Dune’s Instagram

Order your print copy of this month's LIFESTYLE ASIA Magazine:
Download this month's LIFESTYLE ASIA digital copy from:
Subscribe via [email protected]